Malls · Wisconsin
Spring Mall
Spring Mall in Greenfield, WI, a 24‑acre operating mall sold in 2025 to Mandel Group for 257 luxury apartments planned. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.
Site profile3 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Sold since 2020
This site: 2025 Cold Spring Crossing Apartments (Mandel Group) research-deals · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 33,940 on CTH U fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisShrinking county
This site: -2.8% census-acs · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Operatingpublic reporting |
|---|
Deals and debt
| Date | Event | Price | Parties | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-31 | Sold | $4.0M closed | Cold Spring Crossing Apartments (Mandel Group) ← City of Greenfield | dailyreporter.com 2025-04-02 |
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Spring Mall” and “Greenfield” (89 hits, first 89 sampled, 4 other filers such as tenants left out). Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2006-12-15 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2006 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | J.P. Morgan Chase Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2006-CIBC17 | 2 | 2006-12-15 to 2006-12-15 | 8-K 2 |
| Public owner (strong) | Brixmor Property Group Inc. (BRX) | 72 | 2013-12-03 to 2026-02-09 | 8-K 39, 10-K 22, 10-Q 10, 8-K/A 1 |
| Public owner (strong) | Brixmor Operating Partnership LP | 65 | 2015-02-09 to 2026-02-09 | 8-K 34, 10-K 21, 10-Q 10 |
| Public owner (strong) | HERITAGE PROPERTY INVESTMENT TRUST INC | 7 | 2003-03-27 to 2006-03-15 | 10-K 4, 10-K/A 2, 8-K 1 |
| Public owner (strong) | BRADLEY OPERATING L P | 4 | 2004-12-22 to 2006-03-30 | 10-K 2, 8-K 1, 10-K/A 1 |
Site context
| Housing permits, Milwaukee County (WI), 2024 | 788 units in 5+ unit buildings, 28 in 2–4, 189 single-family; 2023: 976 in 5+Census BPS |
|---|---|
| Other atlas sites nearby | 1 within 10 km, 10 within 25 km: Southridge Mall (2.2 km)computed |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 2,482 establishments (-9%); 40,096 jobs (-2%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $286,344 (+4% 1 yr, +33% 5 yr); typical rent $1,507/mo (+5% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 33,940 vehicles a day on CTH U (principal arterial, 6 lanes); 1,761 trucks; 37 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Spring Mall opened as a retail mall in Greenfield, WI, and remained operating until 2025 when the City sold the 24‑acre property to Mandel Group for redevelopment into 257 luxury apartments.
Why. The record shows the mall was sold to a developer with housing plans, indicating a shift from retail to residential use; specific causes such as anchor loss, competition, or debt are not stated.
Where it stands. The site is currently operating but has been sold to Mandel Group, which controls the property and plans 257 luxury apartments.
For a planner
- Precedent: municipal sale of a mall for residential redevelopment.
- Policy tool used: city‑led land sale to a private developer.
- Open questions: details of zoning approvals, affordability, timeline, and infrastructure impacts are not stated in the record.
For a developer
- Site size: 24 acres.
- Control: Mandel Group (buyer) as of March 2025.
- Entitlement stage: not stated in the record.
- Context‑layer constraints (flood, transit, environment): not stated in the record.
- Market signals from tract data: not stated in the record.
What we do not know yet
- Opening date and original anchor tenant mix are unknown.
- Information on any existing debt, liens, or encumbrances is missing.
- Zoning status, entitlement approvals, and affordability requirements are not provided.
- Environmental constraints (floodplain, wetlands, contamination) are not described.
- Data quality is thin: verified as draft with only one source.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Similar sites
- Southridge Mall, Greendale, WI · Malls · also in WI; 2 km away
- Chinese Cultural Center, Phoenix, Phoenix, AZ · Malls · similar size (26 acres)
- Colonial Plaza, Orlando, FL · Malls · similar size (20 acres)
- Eastmont Town Center, East Oakland, CA · Malls · similar size (33 acres)
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Greenfield seeks major mixed-use redevelopment for former Spring Mall ... bizjournals.com
- Developer looks to transform Spring Mall in Greenfield into apartments, townhomes and a possible beer garden/tap room jsonline.com
- Greenfield selects Mandel Group to redevelop Spring Mall site with housing biztimes.com
- Spring Mall-Greenfield-Wisconsin | properties.brixmor.com/cr… | Flickr flickr.com
- Snappers Baseball To Train At Spring Mall: Report | Greenfield, WI Patch patch.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- already in play: under construction, approved, or sold to a developer with housing plans
- 24 acres
- county shrank -2.8% 2018–23
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Acres | 24.0public reporting |
|---|---|
| County | Milwaukee County |
| Census division | 3 · East North Central |
| Notes | Record created from a 2024+ transaction, listing or loan report; no retrofit recorded. |
Not yet recorded: GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Sources
- Mandel Group Spring Mall apartments · 2025-04-02
1 quoted sentence
for $4 million, state real estate records showed